Government, News

Bath to hold town election June 13; candidates can file to run in April

by Trish Rudder

The Town of Bath will elect its representatives on June 13 to serve a new two-year term as mayor, town recorder and five council members.

Every two years, an election is held for the municipality, and townspeople are selected to serve as election officials that oversee the voting process.

The Town of Bath puts all of  their municipal officials on the ballot, with terms beginning and ending together.

The current Bath representatives are Scott Merki, mayor; Susan Webster, town recorder; and council members Chris Chapman, Elizabeth Skinner, Rose Jackson, Rick Weber and Greg Forney.

The following schedule of election dates were approved by the Bath Town Council at the February 7 council meeting:

Absentee ballot applications for military and overseas voters began on January 1 and ends on May 31.

Absentee ballot applications for others begin on March 21 and ends on May 31.

The candidate filing period for mayor, town recorder and five council members is from April 1 to April 12. The deadline for write-in candidates to file is Tuesday, April 18.

The deadline to withdraw is April 28, the last Friday in April.

On April 18, the election officials and alternatives will be appointed.

The uniform drawing for ballot positions will be held on May 2.

The Morgan Messenger will produce ballots for the Ballot Commissioner’s inspection on May 9.

The last day to register to vote is May 23, three weeks prior to election.

The election officials will receive mandatory training on May 25.

Early voting begins on May 20, the last Saturday in May and ends June 3, the first Saturday in June.

The emergency absentee voting period begins June 6 through Election Day, June 13.

The official Ballot is published in The Morgan Messenger on June 7.

Election Day is June 13, the second Tuesday in June.

Canvassing of the election will be held six days after the election, June 19 and results will be declared at the end of canvassing.

Election results will be certified on June 21, 48 hours after results are declared without a recount request.

Voting and counting ballots is held at the Municipal Building at 271 Wilkes Street in Berkeley Springs.