County voters re-elect Miller, choose Bohrer for Magistrate Court; Bergen and Rowland to fill school board seats

Morgan County attorney to take seat as justice on Supreme Court of Appeals; Walter wins primary race for sheriff

Berkeley Springs attorney and State Senator Charles Trump IV was elected on Tuesday as the first West Virginia Supreme Court justice from Morgan County. 

Charles Trump IV

Trump was unopposed in his candidacy for the state’s highest court to fill the seat to be left vacant by the retirement of Justice John Hutchison, who announced his retirement last year. Trump will fill the position for Division 2 on the court, serving a 12-year term. He earned 3.044 votes in Morgan County. Statewide results were not available on Tuesday night.

Election results from all of Morgan County’s 13 precincts were reported around 11 p.m. in the Morgan County Courthouse on a rainy primary election day.

District and statewide race results were still being tabulated as Tuesday night came to a close.

Just 27.4% of registered Morgan County voters cast a ballot in the primary, either through early voting, absentee ballots or precinct voting. A total of 3,743 ballots were cast. Of those, 3,133 were Republican ballots, 549 were Democratic ballots, nine were Mountain Party ballots and 52 were non-partisan.

Judicial office races were settled during the May 14 primary election, and judges will take the bench on January 1, 2025.

Voters also elected Haley Bunn to a full term as a justice on the state’s court for Division 1 after serving as an appointee for four years.

Greg Miller.

In other local judicial races, Morgan County voters re-elected Greg Miller as Morgan County Magistrate, Division 1. Miller beat out two challengers, Angie Schmidt and Keith Knotts, to retain his seat on the bench. Miller brought in 1,557 votes to Schmidt’s 992 and Knotts earned 841 votes.

Current Sheriff K.C. Bohrer was elected to serve as Morgan County Magistrate for Division 2. Bohrer topped Michael Sullivan and Debbie Ditto in the three-way race. Bohrer led with 1,581 votes over Sullivan’s 1.047 and Ditto’s 775 votes.

Both Miller and Bohrer will take the bench on January 1, 2025.

Chuck Bergen
John Rowland.

In other non-partisan election results, former Greenwood principal John Rowland was re-elected to the Morgan County Board of Education for another 4-year term. Voters tapped Chuck Bergen, pastor at Trinity Asbury Church, as a new school board member. Both will take office on July 1. Bergen narrowly beat Dylan Beddow, 1650 to 1611 votes. Rowland earned 1548 votes. Because of the makeup of the Board of Education, either Bergen or Beddow could have been elected from their district, but not both.

Five judges were elected to serve as Circuit Court judges for the newly-formed 27th Judicial Circuit, serving Morgan and Berkeley counties. Sitting judges Michael Lorensen, Steve Redding, Debra McLaughlin and Laura Faircloth were re-elected to full terms on the court and Berkeley County Prosecutor Catie Wilkes Delligatti will take the bench as a first-time judge.

Family Court judges for the 23rd circuit, serving Morgan, Hampshire and Mineral counties, were elected to 8-year terms on the bench. Judge Deanna Rock of Keyser was re-elected to a term on the court and Judge Meredith Haines was elected to her first full term on the court. Haines was appointed last year to serve out the remainder of Judge Glen Stotler’s term as Family Court Judge following his retirement.

Johnnie Walter.

In party primary results, Chief Deputy Johnnie Walter won the GOP primary over Brock Vanorsdale for Morgan County Sheriff. Walter brought in 1,737 votes over Vanorsdale’s 1,121. Walter will face no opponent in the November general election. The Sheriff’s race was the only contested county-level partisan race.

Republican Prosecuting Attorney Dan James earned 2,345 votes in his re-election bid. Assessor Debbie Weaver pulled in 2,446 votes for her unopposed run to retain her position.

Morgan County voters favored GOP incumbent George Miller to keep his seat in the House of Delegates representing the 90th district. Miller beat out Mike Riccio in the primary in Morgan County, pulling in 1,805 votes over Riccio’s 583.

Morgan County went heavily for Republican Tom Willis, who challenged State Senator Craig Blair in his re-election race. Willis pulled in 1,405 votes in Morgan County while Blair brought in 883. Mike Folk collected 569 votes in Morgan County for his State Senate run. Full district results for that race were not available on Tuesday night.

A full listing of preliminary election results will be printed in next week’s Morgan Messenger.