2024 races swell in final week of candidate filing period

by Kate Shunney

Morgan County ballots for the May 14 party primary and non-partisan election attracted more ink in the last week of candidate filing, as prospective politicians made their races official before the filing deadline on Saturday, January 27.

Few surprises popped up in federal and state races in the 2024 election cycle.

But the local race for two Magistrate court judges and two seats on the Board of Education got more crowded as new candidates stepped in to seek those offices.

In May, voters will pick winners for non-partisan races, including seats on the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals, the state’s Intermediate Court of Appeals, spots on the bench in the Circuit Court and Family Court, plus Morgan County’s Magistrate Court, the Morgan County Board of Education and the Eastern Panhandle Soil Conservation District.

Those races will be decided at the May 14 primary.

At press time, it appears that Charles Trump IV will be unopposed in his campaign to be elected as a justice to the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals, replacing retiring Justice John Hutchison. Trump, a State Senator, is a Berkeley Springs attorney who chairs the Senate Judiciary committee.

Partisan races

The partisan primary on May 14 gives voters in each of the political parties a chance to decide which candidate will stand for their party in the General Election in November.

As of press time, based on the West Virginia Secretary of State’s election website and the Morgan County Clerk’s office, here is who is running for what:

U.S. President

Joseph Biden Jr., Democrat, of Wilmington, Del.

Ryan Binkley, Republican, of Dallas, Texas

Nikki Haley, Republican, of Kiawah Island, S.C.

Jason M. Palmer, Democrat, of Baltimore, Md.

Armando Perez-Serrato, Democrat, of Orange, W.Va.

Dean Phillips, Democrat, of Wayzata, Minn.

David Stuckenberg, Republican, of Tampa, Fla.

Rachel Hanna MoHawk Swift, Republican, of Hagerstown, Md. Donald Trump, Republican, of Palm Beach, Fla.

U.S. Senate

Bryan Bird, Republican, of Beckley

Don Blankenship, Democrat, of Sprigg

Glenn Elliott, Democrat, of Wheeling

Jim Justice, Republican, of Lewisburg

Zane Lawhorn, Republican, of Princeton

Don Lindsay, Republican, of Baker

Bryan McKinney, Republican, of Inwood

Janet McNulty, Republican, of Martinsburg

Alex Mooney, Republican, if Charles Town

Zachary Shrewsbury, Democrat, of Princeton

U.S. House of Representatives

Congressional District 2 (including Morgan County)

Dennis “Nate” Cain, Republican, of Hedgesville

Joseph Earley, Republican, of Bridgeport

Alexander Gaaserud, Republican, of Parkersburg

Riley Moore, Republican, of Harpers Ferry

Chris “Mookie” Walker, Republican, of Martinsburg

Steven Wendelin, Democrat, of Lost River.

Governor of West Virginia

Moore Capito, Republican, of Charleston

Kevin “KC” Christian, Republican, of Chloe

Chase Linko-Looper, Mountain Party, of Saint Albans

Chris Miller, Republican, of Huntington

Patrick Morrisey, Republican, of Harpers Ferry

Mitch Roberts, Republican, of Poca

Mac Warner, Republican, of Charleston

Steve Williams, Democrat, of Huntington

Secretary of State

Thornton Cooper, Democrat, of South Charleston

Ken Reed, Republican, of Hedgesville

Doug Skaff, Jr., Republican, of South Charleston

Kris Warner, Republican, of Charleston

Brian Wood, Republican, of Winfied

State Auditor

Caleb Hanna, Republican, of Charleston

Eric Householder, Republican, of Martinsburg

Mark Hunt, Republican, of Charleston

Tricia Jackson, Republican, of Harper’s Ferry

Mary Ann Roebuck Claytor, Democrat, of Saint Albans

State Treasurer

Larry Pack, Republican, of Charleston

Commissioner of Agriculture

Joshua Higginbotham, Republican, of Charleston

Kent Leonhardt, Republican, of Fairview

Roy Ramey, Republican, of Lesage

Attorney General

John “JB” McCuskey, Republican, of Charleston

Richie Robb, Democrat, of South Charleston

Mike Stuart, Republican, of South Charleston

Teresa Toriseva, Democrat, of Wheeling

State Senate

Senatorial District 15 (part of Berkeley, Morgan, Hampshire, part of Mineral)

Craig Blair, Republican, of Martinsburg

Michael “Mike” Folk, Republican, of Martinsburg

Anthony Murray, Democrat, of Capon Bridge

Thomas “Tom” Willis, Republican, of Martinsburg

State Delegate—1 per district

District 89

(western Morgan County)

Alyson Reeves, Democrat, of Levels

Darren Thorne, Republican, of Romney

District 90

(central/eastern Morgan County)

George Miller, Republican, of Berkeley Springs

Mike Riccio, Republican, of Berkeley Springs

Morgan County Sheriff

Brock Vanorsdale, Republican

Johnnie Walter, Republican

Morgan County

Prosecuting Attorney

Dan James, Republican

Morgan County Commissioner

Sean Forney, Republican

Morgan County Assessor

Debbie Weaver, Republican

The following non-partisan positions will be elected on May 14:

Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals – Division 1

Haley Bunn of Charleston

Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals – Division 2

Charles S. Trump IV of Berkeley Springs

Intermediate Court of Appeals

Elgine McArdle of Wheeling

Mychal S. Schulz of Charleston

Ryan White of Charleston

27th Judicial Circuit  

(Morgan & Berkeley—5 judges)

Catie Wilkes Delligatti of Martinsburg, Division 1

Laura V. Faircloth of Martinsburg, Division 2

Michael D. Lorensen, Division 5

Debra McLaughlin of Falling Waters, Division 3

Steven Redding, of Martinsburg, Division 4

Family Court 23rd Circuit

(Morgan, Hampshire, Mineral)

Meredith Haines of Keyser, Division 1

Deanna Rock of Keyser, Division 2

Morgan County Magistrate–2

Greg Miller, Division 1

Keith Knotts, Division 1

Angie Schmidt, Division 1

Kim “KC” Bohrer, Division 2

Debra “Debbie” Ditto, Division 2

Michael Sullivan, Division 2

Morgan County

Board of Education—2 seats

John Rowland, District 2

Charles Bergen, District 4

Dylan Beddow, District 4