Candidate list grows as deadline to run for office approaches

West Virginia candidate filing period has whittled down to 10 days, and those running for office have been making their intentions official since January 8.

Few surprises have popped up so far as aspiring politicians have signed up for the 2024 election cycle.  That cycle includes a party primary on May 14, where each of the political parties will decide which candidate will stand at the General Election in November.

Also on May 14, voters will pick winners for numerous non-partisan races, including seats on the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals, the state’s Intermediate Court of Appeals, spots on the bench in the Circuit Court and Family Court, plus Morgan County’s Magistrate Court, the Morgan County Board of Education and the Eastern Panhandle Soil Conservation District.

Candidates have until January 28 to file to run for office, either with their local County Clerk or with the West Virginia Secretary of State’s office. The Secretary of State maintains a website of candidates as they file. Voters can also check with the Morgan County Clerk’s office for more local information about running for office and those who have filed.

As of press time, here is who is running for what:

U.S. President

Nikki Haley, Republican, of Kiawah Island, S.C.

Donald Trump, Republican, of Palm Beach, Fla.

Armando Perez-Serrato, Democrat, of Orange, W.Va.

Rachel Hanna MoHawk Swift, Republican, of Hagerstown, Md.

U.S. Senate

Jim Justice, Republican, of Lewisburg

Janet McNulty, Republican, of Martinsburg

Alex Mooney, Republican, if Charles Town

U.S. House of Representatives

Congressional District 2 (including Morgan County)

Dennis “Nate” Cain, Republican, of Hedgesville

Joseph Earley, Republican, of Bridgeport

Riley Moore, Republican, of Harpers Ferry

Steven Wendelin, Democrat, of Lost River.

Governor of West Virginia

Mitch Roberts, Republican, of Poca

Mac Warner, Republican, of Charleston

Steve Williams, Democrat, of Huntington

Secretary of State

Thornton Cooper, Democrat, of South Charleston

Kris Warner, Republican, of Charleston

State Auditor

Eric Householder, Republican, of Martinsburg

Tricia Jackson, Republican, of Harper’s Ferry

Commissioner of Agriculture

Kent Leonhardt, Republican, of Fairview

Roy Ramey, Republican, of Lesage

State Senate

Senatorial District 15 (part of Berkeley, Morgan, Hampshire, part of Mineral)

Craig Blair, Republican, of Martinsburg

Michael “Mike” Folk, Republican, of Martinsburg

Thomas “Tom” Willis, Republican, of Martinsburg

State Delegate—1 per district

District 90

George Miller, Republican, of Berkeley Springs

District 89

Darren Thorne, Republican, of Romney

Morgan County Sheriff

Brock Vanorsdale, Republican

Johnnie Walter, Republican

Morgan County

Prosecuting Attorney

Dan James, Republican

Morgan County Commissioner

Sean Forney, Republican

Morgan County Assessor

Debbie Weaver, Republican

The following non-partisan positions will be elected on May 14:

Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals – Division 1

Haley Bunn of Charleston

Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals – Division 2

Charles S. Trump IV of Berkeley Springs

Intermediate Court of Appeals

Mychal S. Schulz of Charleston

  1. Ryan White of Charleston

27th Judicial Circuit  

(Morgan and Berkeley—5 judges)

Catie Wilkes Delligatti of Martinsburg, Division 1

Laura V. Faircloth of Martinsburg, Division 2

Debra McLaughlin of Falling Waters, Division 3

  1. Steven Redding, of Martinsburg, Division 4

Michael D. Lorensen, Division 5

Family Court 23rd Circuit

(Morgan, Hampshire, Mineral)

Deanna Rock, of Keyser, Division 3

Morgan County Magistrate–2

Greg Miller, Division 1

Morgan County

Board of Education—2 seats

John Rowland, District 2