Belle Harvey leads Lady Indians to Interstate Classic Title Boys finish in fourth Place

by Jamie Harris

Belle Harvey

The Berkeley Springs High School Indians boy’s and girl’s cross country teams traveled to Clear Spring, Md. for the Interstate Classic on Saturday, September 7.

Berkeley Springs was in the small school division and both teams showed why their cross country programs are always a state threat. The Lady Indians led by juniors Belle Harvey and Taylor Mason and senior Hannah Moran who all were in the top 10 captured the Small School Championship. Berkeley Springs scored 46 points to edge Catoctin (50 points) and Smithsburg (56 points).

Harvey captured the individual title with an impressive time of 20:55.2. Mason finished in fifth place with a time of 22:28.5. Hannah Moran finished in ninth place with a time of 23:25. Senior Kierstyn Wise finished in 19th place with a time of 26:20.9, senior Leah Reed was 23rd with a time of 27:23.8 and freshman Rebecca Moran was 27th with a time of 31:23.4.

On the boys side the Indians were led by their three freshmen who finished in fourth place in the team standings. The Tribe finished with 91 points while Williamsport (26 points) took first place. Southern Garrett (76) was second while Smithsburg (83) finished in third place.

The Indian runners were led by freshman Jackson Mundey who finished in eighth place with a time of 18:37. Fellow freshmen Isaac Harris (18th place, 20:10.5) and Aiden Carpenter (19th place, 20:14) gave the Tribe two more runners in the top 20. Sophomores Jacob Rough (22nd place, 20:26.2) and Tim Develing (29th place, 21:10.5) along with junior Landen Riggleman (21:31.8) and senior Josh Torres (37th place, 22:10.4) rounded out the Indians place winners.

In the junior varsity meet the Indians had four runners participating. Dalton Weller (71st place, 22:42.1), Trent Ao (87th place, 23:39.7), Caden Gates (108th place, 26:17.7) and Brett Shoemaker (109th place, 26:19.6) all ran.

Next up for the cross country teams is the Frankfort Invitational on Saturday, September 14.