2018-01-10 / Front Page

2018 election season kicks off with filing

Local residents and West Virginia citizens who are interested in running for office in 2018 can now file candidate paperwork to enter local, state and national races.

The candidate filing period began on Monday, January 8 and continues through January 27. Those seeking office can file at the Morgan County Clerk’s office or contact the Secretary of State’s office for assistance.

Morgan County offices up for election this year are a seat on the County Commission, Prosecuting Attorney and three seats on the Morgan County Board of Education.

The County Commission seat up for election is currently held by Bob Ford. Ford, a Republican, has said he will run for another six year term. Any eligible resident who lives in Magisterial districts #1, 3 and 5 can seek the seat. Those districts encompass western, eastern and southern Morgan County.

Morgan County’s Prosecuting Attorney post is up for grabs after the formerly elected Debra McLaughlin was appointed to the bench as a Circuit Court Judge for the 23rd circuit last year. Dan James was appointed to fill the office, but must run for election to keep the seat. James was Morgan County’s former Assistant Prosecutor before being elected to the Prosecutor’s post in Hampshire County in 2012. The Prosecuting Attorney must be able to practice law in West Virginia and represents the state in all cases in Morgan County. Prosecutors serve for a six-year term.

Three seats on the Morgan County school board are up for election this year. School board members are chosen during May’s primary election. That election is nonpartisan.

School board seats up for grabs this May are those currently held by Laura Smith, David Ambrose and Aaron Close. Ambrose has said he won’t seek another four-year term on the board.

WV legislature

Also up for election are two House of Delegates seats for districts that serve Morgan County. The seat representing District #58 is held now by longtime delegate Daryl Cowles (R-Morgan). The House seat for District #59 is held by two-term delegate Saira Blair (R-Berkeley).

A State Senate seat held by Charles Trump (R-Morgan) is up for election this year. Trump was elected to the State Senate, 15th district, in 2012 after a hiatus following lengthy service in the House of Delegates.

West Virginia voters will select a U.S. Senator in 2018 and local voters will choose a member of the U.S. House of Representatives for the 2nd Congressional district. Seats up for election are currently held by U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Congressman

Alex Mooney (RWV).

Questions about eligibility for office can be directed to the Morgan County Clerk at 304-258-8547 or in person at the courthouse. Candidates must pay a filing fee and submit paperwork to enter election races. The West Virginia Secretary of State’s office, which oversees elections in the state, can be reached at 1- 304-558-6000.

Return to top

Just a slight clarification.

Just a slight clarification. The entire Eastern Panhandle will also vote for two seats on the 23rd Circuit Court this May during the primary. These two positions will fill the unexpired terms of the deceased Judge John Yoder and the retired Judge Grey Silver. Election for Circuit Court Judge is non-partisan. David Hammer is the only candidate who filed a Certificate of Announcement with the Secretary of State office on the opening day of filing on January 8, 2018.