2017-12-20 / Front Page

Local law enforcement recognized by travel group for safety efforts

Berkeley Springs Police Department and the Morgan County Sheriff’s Department were among 20 West Virginia departments that received awards for community traffic safety efforts in 2017. Twelve departments received Platinum Awards, while eight others were honored with Gold, Silver, or Bronze awards.

“Each organization has gone above and beyond their call of duty to make their community a safer place for motorists and residents,” said JJ Miller, AAA East Central Safety Advisor.

The Platinum awards were given to “Commendable Leaders” for their safety efforts and enforcement activities geared towards making communities safer.

The recipients of the prestigious awards were police departments in: Berkeley Springs, Charles Town, Harpers Ferry, Martinsburg, Moorefield, Piedmont, and Ranson; Sherriff’s Departments in the following counties were awarded with Platinum awards: Berkeley, Jefferson, and Morgan; and Platinum Awards were given to West Virginia State Police Troops 2 in Charles Town and Martinsburg.

Gold awards, the second highest recognition to be given, were awarded to police departments in: Petersburg, Romney, Shepherdstown, and Wardensville; and the Sheriff’s Departments in Hampshire County and Mineral County.

A Silver award was given to the West Virginia State Police Troop 2 in Romney.

A Bronze award was given to the Hardy County Sheriff’s Department.

AAA East Central conducts a variety of free highway safety programs throughout West Virginia focusing on all age groups. The Club also partners with law enforcement and safety agencies on initiatives to improve the safety of the community and local highways.

AAA East Central is a notfor profit association with 81 local offices in Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and West Virginia serving 2.7 million members.

Return to top