2017-08-02 / News

Bath briefs

by Trish Rudder
Planning commission presentation moved to September

Lower, vice president of the Bath planning commission moved the comprehensive plan report to the town council to a September meeting date instead of August 15.

A report to the council is to be given twice a year, according to comprehensive plan guidelines.

The plan was approved by the council in May.

Bath council committee changes

With two newly elected council members, Merki requested some committee chair and member changes at the July 18 meeting. After some discussion, the council approved the changes as follows:

Public Works is chaired by Councilman Rick Weber, with Merki and Andrew Swaim as members; Public Safety is now chaired by Councilwoman Rose Jackson with Weber and Chris Chapman as members; Finance is chaired by Councilman Swaim with Chapman and Weber as members; Ordinance is now chaired by Town Recorder Susan Webster with Jackson and Elizabeth Skinner as members; the Grant committee is chaired by Skinner with Webster and Swaim as members; and the Water committee is chaired by Chapman with Merki and Jackson as members.

Also Jackson was appointed by the council to represent Travel Berkeley Springs for the town and Weber was appointed as the town rep for the Berkeley Springs-Morgan County Chamber of Commerce.

Bath Development

Authority has new committee members

BDA president Mark Garfinkel asked the council to approve Councilwoman Skinner to serve on the BDA as a town representative.

Garfinkel also introduced Cindy Bodin as a new BDA member and asked the council for approval.

Skinner said Bodin has an accounting background that is useful to the BDA in preparing its treasurer’s report.

The council approved Garfinkel’s requests.

Tree board update

The Bath Tree Board head, Swaim said that member Kerry Jackson has resigned, but a replacement for her position has been found.

Tree board volunteer Susan Jones wants to fill the opening and join the board. He said Jones had worked before with tree board members and recommended Jones be appointed.

Swaim read her application to the council and the council approved her appointment. She will take Jackson’s place as a tree board member to serve through December 31, 2018.

Return to top