2017-07-26 / School News

Junior Order annual convention

The 129th annual convention of the West Virginia Junior Order United American Mechanics (Jr.O.U.A.M.) was held July 20-22 at the Holiday Inn in Martinsburg.

Attending from North Carolina and representing the National Council was Charles Riehs, National Councilor.

The convention opened Thursday evening with Past State Councilor and Master of Ceremonies, Chris Puffenburger. Invocation was given by Acting Chaplain David Kendig followed by Conductor Barbara Hewitt leading all in the Pledge of Allegiance.

After the Welcome Address was delivered by Douglas Copenhaver, President of the Berkeley County Council, State Councilor Dale Dailey introduced the West Virginia State and National officers.

A memorial service was held on Friday morning in remembrance of the deceased members of the past year.

Lewis Braithwaite delivered a keynote speech based on the Jr. Order Motto of Virtue, Liberty and Patriotism.

Committee appointments were made and National officers were introduced.

On Saturday, National Councilor Riehs addressed the session concerning various ways to grow membership. Officers were elected and installed by the National Councilor.

The State Council officers for 2017-18 are: Gary Vance Councilor, Barbara Hewitt Vice Councilor, Joyce Everett Secretary, Jerry Frye Treasurer, David Kendig Chaplain, Carroll Bonnett Conductor, Pat Mosco Warden, Gary Harshman Inside Sentinel and Chris Puffenburger Outside Sentinel.

State Councilor Gary Vance ended this State Session until the July 2018 convention at Mineral Wells.

Return to top