Indians finish second at Tri State Shootout

Hamrick & Hoover named to the All-Tournament Team

by Jamie Harris

This past Tuesday and Wednesday, December 26 and 27, nights the Berkeley Springs High School gym was packed with basketball fans for the annual Tri State Shootout. The Shootout featured Berkeley Springs, Calvary Christian Academy, Boonsboro and Southern Fulton.

In the opening game on Tuesday night Southern Fulton downed Calvert Christian to earn a spot in the championship game. Berkeley Springs entered the event 0-5 and were looking to take- down a decent Boonsboro team.

Playing their best basketball of the season the Indians were able to secure a 65-39 win over the Warriors. The second and third quarter saw the Indians score 20 plus points to change the momentum of the game.

Berkeley Springs had three players score in double figures. Landen Schetrompf and Brennan Hoover each scored 14 points each. Isaiah Hutchinson added 11 points.

Brennan Hoover holds back the Southern Fulton player, while looking for an opening.
Isaiah Hutchison (1) attempts to score for the Indians, while Southern Fulton players try to knock it away. photos by Lori Younker

Also scoring for the Indians were Jake Aulabaugh (9 points), Jacob Shekey (6 points), Kyle Moore (6 points) and Dakota Hamrick (5 points).

On Wednesday night, December 27, the Indians faced off with the Southern Fulton Indians for the Tri- State Shootout Championship. In a low scoring affair it was Southern Fulton who squeaked by with the 29-25 win.

Landon Schetrompf brings the ball down the court for the Indians. photo by Lori Younker

Landon Schetrompf led the Tribe with 11 points while Isaiah Hutchinson (4 points), Brennan Hoover (2 points), Jacob Shekey (2 points) and Dakota Hamrick (6 points) also contributed.

Senior Dakota Hamrick and freshman Brennan Hoover were named to the Tri State Shootout All-Tournament team.

Berkeley Springs (1-6) will next be in action on Friday, January 5 when they host the Keyser Golden Tornado. The JV game tips off at 6 p.m., and the varsity will start at 7:30 p.m.