Paw Paw re-elects Abe as mayor, picks 5 council members

Voters inside the Town of Paw Paw gave the green light for a second term for Mayor Darlene Abe during early and election day voting on June 6. Abe gathered 41 votes to head into another four-year term in office.

In a race of six candidates for five council seats for the Town of Paw Paw, several incumbents held onto their posts while some new faces were added to town government. Council members serve two-year terms.

Elected to council were:

Barbara Davis (38 votes)

Sherry Rowzee (36 votes)

Mary Parker Marcus (33 votes)

John Pritchard (32 votes)

Ricki Armel (27 votes)

Candidate James Ringley pulled in 20 votes, falling short of a council seat. Preliminary vote totals were reported by Town Recorder Jeff Palmer.

The current Paw Paw Council canvassed and certified the vote totals on Monday, June 12 at 7 p.m. in Paw Paw’s Town Hall.