2018 Morgan Messenger & Hancock News All Area Track Team

by Jamie Harris & Bill Sterner

This past fall the sports writers from the Morgan Messenger and Hancock News have partnered up with the athletic directors and head coaches from Berkeley Springs High School, Hancock High School and Paw Paw High School to select an All Area team for the fall, winter and spring varsity sports that the teams compete in.

With each all area team there will be a player of the year for both the male and female athletes selected by a committee panel.

For the all area boys and girls track & field teams the members were selected based on head to head performances this past year and the individual’s performances at their respective state, regional or conference track championships.

The 2018 Female Track Athlete of the Year is Berkeley Springs senior high jump standout Tori Reed. Reed was the area’s best in the high jump and her efforts paid off as she captured a PVC championship, a third place finish in the Class AA Region I championships and capped her senior season with a sixth place finish at the Class AA WV State Track and Field Championships. Reed was consistently jumping 4’10” all season. Reed was also a four time PVC high jump champion and a two time state place winner.

Joining Reed from Berkeley Springs High School are the following athletes.

In the field events Katherine McLaughlin (discus & long jump), Darby Harris (shot put), and Kaleah Mellott (shot put & discus).

In the running events Belle Harvey (1600, 3200, & 4×800 meter relay), Brooke Davison (1600 meters, 4×400 meter relay, & 4×800 meter relay), Stephanie Golden (800 meters, 1600 meters, & 4×800 meter relay), Alex Banks (800 meters & 4×800 meter relay), Amanda Lupton (1600 meters & 3200 meters), Hynnja Dietrich (400 meters & 4×400 meter relay), Taya Davies (relays), Kaitlin Griffin (100 meters, 200 meters, 4×100 meter relay, & 4×200 meter relay), Rachel Reed (200 meters, 4×100 meter relay, & 4×200 meter relay) and Jenna Perry (400 meters & 4×400 meter relay).

Paw Paw is represented by Elizabeth Henderson (400 meters), Marissa Moreland (800 meters), and Hana Hendrickson (800 meters).

Hancock is represented by Kallee Seal (pole vault & sprints) and Paige Faith (long jump & hurdles).

The 2018 Male Track Athlete of the Year is Hancock senior shot and discus standout Evan Wachter. Wachter finished in sixth place in the Maryland 1A West Regional Championships and then followed up with an impressive seventh place finish in the Maryland 1A State Track and Field Championships. Wachter also threw an area best of 45’11” in the shot put.

Also representing Hancock is Colin Mosier (high jump & sprints), Noah Hoopengardner (300 hurdles & sprints), Nick Walls (sprints & relays), Eddy Leach (200 & relays), and Jesse Walls (pole vault & relays).

Representing Berkeley Springs High School is the following athletes. Seniors Wes Colyer (800 meters & 1600 meters), Logan Heironimus (3200 meters), CJ Ryan (Long Jump, 300 Hurdles & 4×100 meter relay), Tanner Clark (shot & discus), Mason Sipes (shot), Joe Lorenzo (discus), junior Ty’Jae Armstrong (100 meters & 200 meters), Roman Kirk (high jump), Aaron Farris (sprints), Sterling Slusher (sprints), and Avery Lackey (pole vault).

Representing Paw Paw High School is the following athletes. Seniors Hunter Kasekamp (1600 meters & 3200 meters), Jon Wolfe (high jump), Matt Kidwell (long jump), and freshman Dominic Tanouye (1600 meters & 3200 meters).